Tchaikovsky, Romeo and Juliet Overture-Fantasy
Assad, Anahata World Premiere
Tchaikovsky, Capriccio italien, Op. 45
Mahler, “Adagietto” from Symphony No. 5
Offenbach, Orpheus in the Underworld Overture

Carolyn Kuan, Conductor
Boyd Meets Girl, Guitar & cello duo
Rupert Boyd, guitar; Laura Metcalf, cello

Romance is in the air with Enduring Love Stories. The HSO introduces you to star-crossed lovers throughout time and explores the struggles they endured. Through the music of Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet and Offenbach’s Orpheus in the Underworld the HSO brings emotion and passion to the stage. Bringing dynamic duos into the present, the HSO has commissioned a double concerto by Grammy® Award nominated composer Clarice Assad for the husband-and-wife guitar and cello duo, Boyd Meets Girl, comprised of Rupert Boyd, guitar and West Hartford native, Laura Metcalf, cello.

More Information