Montgomery, Starburst
Price, Symphony No. 1 in E minor
Rachmaninoff, Piano Concerto No. 2

Carolyn Kuan, Conductor
Terrence Wilson, Piano

Pianist Terrence Wilson performs what can be considered one of the greatest and most romantic works in the piano repertoire, Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2. While nursing a broken foot, Florence Price composed Symphony No. 1 in E minor, her first full orchestral composition on record. Price’s Symphony was the first symphony composed by a Black woman to be performed by a major orchestra- the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in 1932.

Concert Sponsor: The Alexander Campbell McNally and Tina Mahar McNally Memorial Concert

*Please note: face masks are required to enter the Belding Theater for our Sunday matinee Masterworks concerts*

More Information