Beethoven's Ninth'

Glass : Concerto for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra
Beethoven : Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 “Choral”


Carolyn Kuan, Conductor
Harrison Kliewe, Soprano Saxaphone
Colette Hall, Alto Saxaphone
Sean Tanguay, Tenor Saxaphone
Michael Raposo, Baritone Saxaphone
Richard Coffey, Music Director - Hartford Chorale
Jamilyn Manning-White, Soprano
Jordan Weatherston, Tenor
Brian James Myer, Baritone
Tamara Mumford, Mezzo-Soprano

We conclude the 2019-2020 season with a true “Ode to Joy” – Beethoven’s towering, magnificent Symphony No. 9. The completion of his final and greatest symphony coincided with his total hearing loss, so that by the premiere, a concert soloist had to turn him around at the podium so he could witness the audience’s thunderous applause and ovations.

Philip Glass’ jazzy and soulful Concerto for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra will be performed by the engaging Hartford-based Resurgam Quartet.

Tickets on sale now! 2019-2020 subscriptions are available now. For subscription information, please call 860-244-2999.

More Information