Beethoven’s 5th

Britten : “Four Sea Interludes” from Peter Grimes
Higdon : Concerto 4-3
Beethoven : Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67


Carolyn Kuan, Conductor
Time for Three string trio, Nicolas (Nick) Kendall - violin, Charles Yang - violin, Ranaan Meyer - double bass

Beginning with those unforgettable four notes, Beethoven’s blazing Symphony No. 5 “emanates directly and solely from the genius of Beethoven,” said Hector Berlioz. The HSO welcomes the groundbreaking, category-shattering trio Time for Three for Higdon’s Concerto 4-3, a work that blends bluegrass with traditional classical. And Britten’s haunting “Four Sea Interludes” from the opera Peter Grimes reflects the turmoil of both the opera’s characters and the sea off Britain’s Suffolk coast.

Sponsored by The Saunders Fund for Innovative Programming

New subscriptions are on sale now. Single tickets will go on sale August 20. For information on subscriptions, please call 860-987-5900 or visit www.hartfordsymphony.org.

More Information