Tchaikovsky's Firsts

Tchaikovsky : “Polonaise” from Eugene Onegin, TH 5
Tchaikovsky : Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23, TH 55
Tchaikovsky : Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13, TH 24, “Winter Dreams”


Carolyn Kuan, Conductor
Szymon Nehring, Piano

We celebrate the great Tchaikovsky with two of his firsts! His triumphant Piano Concerto No. 1 was an immediate success upon its premiere in Boston in 1875, and was the first piece of classical music to sell a million records, with a performance by Van Cliburn in 1958. His melancholic and seductive Symphony No. 1, “Winter Dreams,” marked the first of its kind: the Russian symphony.

New subscriptions are on sale now. Single tickets will go on sale August 20. For information on subscriptions, please call 860-987-5900 or visit www.hartfordsymphony.org.

More Information